upec 2021 logo

UPEC 2021 Powering Net Zero Emissions

56th International Universities Power Engineering Conference
31 August – 3 September 2021
Held virtually and hosted by Teesside University, UK


The winners of the best paper awards were chosen by our reviewers who shortlisted from the paper review and then chosen by the UPEC2021 steering committee. There were a number of outstanding papers so well done to these two who were chosen from over 130 papers.

  • Best paper award sponsored by MDPI Electronics goes to paper #73 (1570728293): A Practical Approach to Construct Digital Twin of a Power Grid using Harmonic Spectra, Hui Cai (first author), Power System Group, TU Ilmenau, Germany
  • Best paper award sponsored by MDPI Energies goes to paper #27 (1570724833): Neural Predictive Control for the Optimization of Smart Grid Flexibility Schedules, Steven de Jongh (first author), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

Our panel session chairs chose the best presenter under 30 awards. These go to Andrea Schaefer and Claudia Sheridan

  • Best presenter under 30 award sponsored by MDPI Electronics goes to Paper ID: 1570725208. Title: Frequency-dependent Modeling of Generic Honeycomb Networks: Andrea Schaefer
  • Best presenter under 30 award sponsored by MDPI Energies goes to Paper ID: 1570735094 Title: A Techno-Economic Evaluation of Battery Energy Storage Systems co-located with Wind in the Irish Integrated Electricity Market: Claudia Sheridan

Congratulations to all, we know they have a promising career ahead.

Platinum Sponsor


Welcome to the 56th International Universities Power Engineering Conference, hosted by Teesside University. UPEC 2021 continues the long tradition of the UPEC conferences. The theme of the 56th edition is “Powering Net Zero Emissions” and will deal with a range of research topics in power engineering. UPEC aims to brings together young researchers, PhD students, experienced researchers, and professors to exchange ideas, discuss innovative and emerging solutions, and develop collaborations. Owing to the COVID pandemic UPEC 2021 will be hosted as an online conference allowing registrants to participate virtually.

Extended versions of all papers accepted for UPEC2021 will be eligible for publication in our special issues of MDPI Electronics journal and MDPI Energies journal.

Important dates

  • Deadline for full paper submission: 21 May 2021 15th June 2021
  • Notification for full paper acceptance: 18 June 2021 Continuous till 30th of June
  • Deadline for final camera-ready paper submission: 10 July 2021
  • Deadline for early registration discount: 12 July 2021
  • Deadline for registration: 31st July 2021
  • Deadline for uploading video presentations to EDAS: 2 Aug 2021
  • Deadline for uploading presentation slides to EDAS: 2 Aug 2021

Please visit the relevant links of the website and see our blog for other pertinent information.


The technical programme of UPEC 2021 is hosted using the virtual conference platform Whova. To allow participants across the globe to have access to the technical content, UPEC 2021 will feature a flipped conference model. A portion of the technical programme which includes pre-recorded video recordings of paper presentations, the presentation slides and the conference proceedings (papers) have been made available to access for registered participants from the 16th of August 2021, two weeks ahead of the conference starting dates.

The technical programme on the conference days will feature live sessions including Keynotes, Paper Panel and Networking sessions. Please see the Programme tab of the website and our blog for more details.

Bronze Sponsors

MDPI - Publisher of Open Access Journals
Electronics | An Open Access Journal from MDPI
MDPI | An Open Access Journal from MDPI


IEEE – UK and Ireland Section – The World’s Largest Professional Association for the Advancement of Technology (
IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
Edubservices Ltd. classic vehicle conversion to electric (Tech lead Dr Gill Lacey, Senior Lecturer in Power Engineering)
IET - Institution of Engineering and Technology (